How Coventry MPs voted on Boris Johnson’s EU Withdrawal Agreement

The vote paves the way for the UK to leave the European Union on 31 January.

Members of Parliament (MPs) on Friday afternoon voted 358 to 234 in favour of the second reading of the government’s EU Withdrawal Agreement Bill.

The government won with a majority of 124.

The success of Boris Johnson’s deal paves the way for the UK to leave the European Union on 31 January.

Two of Coventry’s MPs, Taiwo Owatemi and Colleen Fletcher, voted against the bill, despite Coventry having voted a majority in favour of leaving the European Union.

While Coventry South MP Zarah Sultana is recorded as having not voted.

It was the first vote in the House of Commons for newly-elected Coventry South and Coventry North West MPs, Zarah Sultana and Taiwo Owatemi, who with the addition of Colleen Fletcher make up Coventry’s all-female, Labour line-up.

Following the results, Conservative former cabinet minister Damian Green said, “A week ago, Boris Johnson and the Conservative Party won a general election saying we wanted to get Brexit done.

“And here we are today, a week later, getting it done.”

Mike Cherry, the national chairman of the Federation of Small Businesses, said, “This clarity of purpose will hopefully instil confidence in the small business community that they can get back to the business of investing, creating jobs and growing.”

Shortly after, MPs also approved the programme motion for the EU Withdrawal Agreement Bill by 353 votes to 243, a majority of 110.

A programme motion is used by the government to timetable a bill’s progress through the Commons by setting out the time allowed for debate at each stage.