Who Coventry MPs are backing in the Labour leadership election

Find out who your MP and MEP nominated to be the next leader of the Labour Party.

Jeremy Corbyn’s leadership of the Labour Party will come to an end in April, with the three-phase process to elect the party’s next leader now underway.

This week, Members of Parliament (MPs) and Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) picked their nominations for the party’s new leader.

Here’s who Coventry’s MPs and MEP nominated:

Colleen Fletcher, MP for Coventry North East, nominated Jess Phillips for leader and Angela Rayner for deputy leader.

Taiwo Owatemi, MP for Coventry North West, nominated Lisa Nandy for leader and Dawn Butler for deputy leader.

Zarah Sultana, MP for Coventry South, nominated Rebecca Long-Bailey for leader and Richard Burgon for deputy leader.

The West Midland’s only Labour Party MEP, Neena Gill OBE, nominated Keir Starmer for leader and Dawn Butler for deputy leader.

It is the first Labour Party leadership election as MPs for Taiwo Owatemi and Zarah Sultana, both of whom were elected for the first time in the past December 2019 election.

Miss Owatemi said she is “proud” of her two nominations.

In a statement, she commented, “These two amazing women are Labour through and through and represent different parts of our country and the best of our party. With them in charge, I believe Labour can rebuild that winning coalition to form a government.”

“Lisa has shown her ability to unify the party, grounding us in our core values, with the appeal to win back the communities we lost. Dawn came to support us here in Coventry North West, she understands our party and has a proven track record of holding this government to account.”

She also urged all the candidates to come to Coventry to hear directly from residents who live in the city about their concerns, aspirations and priorities for the country.

Miss Sultana said that she is “looking forward” to supporting her nominees “for a socialist, anti-war Labour Party.”